First Two Weeks: A Recap

What I’ve liked, what I’ve disliked, what’s challenging, what’s surprising.

Likes:

My C.I. (clinical instructor) is amazing. She’s great at teaching, challenging and providing feedback. Plus, we get on very well.

The facility has so many tools for intervention for endless options and opportunity to learn.

One patient / hour & very hands on.

Fellow P.T., P.T.A.s, P.T. techs, O.Ts and SLPs are wonderful to work with!

Dislikes:

The facility plays favorites towards those who have a lot of money. Also, these are the patients who believe they are also a practitioner.

Physical therapists still require a prescription from patients prior to treatment despite the 30 day direct access law in F.L.

P.T.’s at this facility must give either 45 or 60 minute treatments. They also do not control their own schedule, separate administration (non-health care background) controls scheduling.

Physical therapists are not believed to be as capable as we are by other medical professionals in this health care system.

Challenges:

Patients who continuously have a negative attitude towards their recovery.

Patients who need psychotherapy, not physical therapy, but don’t believe they do. Also the stigma against psychotherapy.

Patients who do not take part in their health outside of treatment sessions.

Surprising:

I understand more than I think I do.

I am more resourceful than I thought.

I also know nothing at the same time.

I am not as anxious to go to my internship as I was each day during my first one.

 

 


Leave a comment